Medical Intelligence Society

Virtual Summit 2022

MIS 2022
Third Annual Summit

”Today we realise the importance of enlisting the help of many experts in other fields in our attempts to solve the problem. These fields extend from the extremes of basic sciences to the whole gamut of applied sciences, engineering, biology… Among the investigators must be included biostatisticians with whom the physicians themselves can work closely and in a practical way with mutual respect and cooperation”

   Dr Paul Dudley White

"The Cardiologist Enlists the Epidemiologist" 1957

It is with this ethos that the MIS Annual Summit returns in its third iteration with an outstanding faculty featuring speakers from The United States, Australia, New Zealand and Europe. We aim to foster a sense of community and shared understanding among clinicians, nurses, data scientists, engineers and other vital members of the modern healthcare to solve the numerous problems facing our healthcare systems. The age of information is well and truly upon us, and it is time to get real!

Knowledge and understanding of the concepts of medical intelligence is crucial not just to improve health outcomes for our societies, but also to do no harm especially in our current phase of relative naivety. The Summit will explore themes of AI integration to the clinical workflow, its readiness and ethical considerations, a roadmap for responsible adoption, specific applications of AI in medicine and finally encouraging innovative problem solving and entrepreneurship in medicine.

Day 1

North America & Europe July 29

Australia & New Zealand July 30

PDT   13:00

CEST 22:00

AEST 06:00

NZST 08:00

Opening Session

20 mins

Opening Remarks

Anthony Chang MD MBA MPH MS

Pediatric Cardiologist, Chief Intelligence and Innovation Officer, Children's Health of Orange County.

Editor-in-chief, Intelligence Based Medicine Journal

President, Medical Intelligence Society

Dr_ Chang no lab coat_JPG.webp

Welcome & Program Overview

Zaidon Al-Falahi, FRACP

Consultant Cardiologist, Campbelltown Hospital.

Chair, MIS 2022

1516518973483.jpg
Hao Tran, MD

Cardiology Fellow, Liverpool Hospital

Chair, MIS 2022

Hao-Tran._sqjpg.webp

PDT   13:20

CEST 22:20

AEST 06:20

NZST 08:20

Session 1

90 mins

Curt Langlotz.jpg
Curtis Langlotz MD PhD

Professor of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics. Director, Centre for Artificial Intelligence in Medicine and Imaging, Stanford.

Keynote address
"Translation of AI Research Into Clinical Practice"
Francisco Lopez-Jimenez MD

Cardiologist and Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. Co-Director of Artificial Intelligence in Cardiology at Mayo Clinic. Chair of Division of Preventive Cardiology

"Spectrum Bias in Algorithms Derived by Artificial Intelligence"
Francisco.webp
Leo.png
Leo Anthony Celi MD MPH MSc

Pulmonary and Critical Care Physician, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Principal Research Scientist, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Clinical Research Director, Lab of Computational Physiology. Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

"AI for Healthcare is not Ready for Deployment"

Panel Discussion

"Algorithms at the bedsides and the dangerous business of patenting and selling algorithms in healthcare."

PDT   14:50

CEST 23:50

AEST 07:50

NZST 09:50

Break

10 mins

PDT   15:00

CEST 00:00

AEST 08:00

NZST 09:00

Session 2

100 mins

Robyn 350x350.jpg
Robyn Whittaker MD PhD

Public Health Physician, Clinical Director of Waitemata's Institute for Innovation and Improvement. Associate Professor at the National Institute for Health Innovation, University of Auckland, New Zealand. Member of WHO DHTAG

Keynote address
"Ethics of AI in Healthcare"
Jim Basilakis MD, PhD

Senior Lecturer of Health Informatics at the School of Computing, Engineering and Mathematics at Western Sydney University. PhD in Machine Learning, cryptography and healthcare cybersecurity.

"Privacy Enhancing Technologies and Homomorphic Encryption"
Jim Basilakis_edited.jpg
Enrico-Coiera.jpg
Enrico Coiera MD PhD FACMI

Foundation Professor of Medical Informatics and Director of the Centre of Health Informatics, Macquarie University.

Keynote address
"AI Roadmap for healthcare in Australia"

Panel Discussion

"Do no harm meets move fast and break things. Ethical and security considerations for AI adoption in healthcare"

PDT   16:40

CEST 01:40

AEST 09:40

NZST 11:40

Break

10 mins

PDT   16:50

CEST 01:50

AEST 09:50

NZST 11:50

Session 3

60 mins

Verjans.Johan.jpg
Johan Verjans MD, PhD

Cardiologist, Royal Adelaide Hospital, Deputy Medical Director, Australian Institute for Machine Learning

"AI in Medical Imaging"
Laith Al-Zubaidi PhD

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow in Machine Learning for Biomedical Technologies at the School of Mechanical, Medical and Process Engineering, Queensland University of Technology.

"Deep Learning for Medical Imaging Applications"
Laith Al Zubaidi.jpg
Sandeep Reddy.jpg
Sandeep Reddy MD PhD

Associate Professor in Health Service Management, Medical Informatics, Public Health and Medicine, Deakin University

"Comprehensive AI Evaluation Framework Applied to COVID-Related AI Studies"

PDT   17:50

CEST 02:50

AEST 10:50

NZST 12:50

Break

10 mins

PDT   18:00

CEST 03:00

AEST 11:00

NZST 13:00

Session 4

60 mins

George-Margelis.jpg
George Margelis MD

Adjunct Associate Professor, TeleHealth Research & Innovation Laboratory, Western Sydney University. Independent Chair, Aged Care Industry Information Technology Council.

"AI and Digital Health In The Community"
Paul Middleton MD PhD

Professor of Emergency Medicine, Liverpool Hospital. Director of the South Western Emergency Research Institute, Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research.

"The Virtual Twin – The South Western Sydney Local Health District experience"
Paul MIddleton.jpg

PDT   18:40

CEST 03:40

AEST 11:40

NZST 13:40

MIS Data Competition Winners

First Prize

Daniel Liu and Feliciano Yu
"Using Gradient boosting forest models to examine the impact of adverse childhood events"
Daniel Liu.jpg
feliciano.jpeg

Second Prize

Alex Phu and Alan Lam
"Predicting bone age using deep neural networks"

Third Prize

Dave Leone
"Machine learning to predict palivizumab eligibility"
Leone, David_MD UW 2022_edited.jpg

Fourth Prize

Robert Tran and Jasmin Joshi
"Predicting sepsis with logistic regression model"

PDT   18:55

CEST 03:55

AEST 11:55

NZST 13:55

Day 1 conclusion

Day 2

North America & Europe July 30

Australia & New Zealand July 31

PDT   13:00

CEST 22:00

AEST 06:00

NZST 08:00

Session 1

60 mins

Amara.jpg
Adam Amara PhD

Computational Biologist, Section of Nutrition and Metabolism, International Agency for Research on Cancer, World Health Organisation

"Graph Databases In Cancer Prevention, Diagnosis, And Personalised Medicine"
Feliciano “Pele” Yu, Jr., MD, MSHI, MSPH, FAAP, FAMIA 

Professor of Pediatrics, Biomedical Informatics and Public health, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.
VP/Chief Medical Information Officer, Arkansas Children's Hospital

"Algorithms in Real World Scenarios, Experience With EHR Vendor-derived Machine Learning Models"
feliciano.jpeg
Dr-Otton-n.webp
James Otton MD PhD 

Associate Professor of Cardiology, advanced cardiac imaging specialist, Liverpool and St Vincent Hospitals, Sydney. Masters of Biomedical Engineering. Research faculty, Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute. 

"How to teach an AI when you don't know much!"

PDT   14:00

CEST 23:00

AEST 07:00

NZST 09:00

Break

10 mins

PDT   14:10

CEST 23:10

AEST 07:10

NZST 09:10

Session 2

60 mins

Martin Than_web.jpg
Martin Than MD

Director of Emergency Medicine Research, Christchurch Hospital, New Zealand.

"AI to predict heart attacks in the Emergency Department"
Hamilton Baker MD

Associate Prof of Pediatrics and Public Health, MUSC, Division of Pediatric Cardiology & Biomedical Informatics Center. Founder & Lead, Clemson-MUSC AI Hub

"AI in Pediatrics"
Hamilton-Baker.jpg
Bob.jpg
Bob Hoyt MD FACP FAMIA

Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine. 

Author and editor of Health Informatics: Practical Guide, Introduction to Biomedical Data Science, and Data Preparation and Exploration: Applied to Healthcare Data

"Data Science for Clinicians"

PDT   15:10

CEST 00:10

AEST 08:10

NZST 10:10

Break

10 mins

PDT   14:10

CEST 23:10

AEST 07:10

NZST 09:10

Session 3

60 mins

obeid_2.jpg
Jihad Obeid MD FAMIA

Pediatrician, Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences, Psychiatry and Behavioural Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina. Co-Director of the Biomedical Informatics Centre at MUSC

Keynote address
"The AI consult"
Srikanth Mahankali MD

Diagnostic Radiologist; Faculty Alumnus (Magnetic Resonance Imaging), Division of Diagnostic Imaging, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer, Houston, Texas (USA)

"AI and Global Health"
thumbnail_SRI.jpg
Dr_ Chang no lab coat_JPG.webp
Anthony Chang MD MBA MPH MS

Pediatric Cardiologist, Chief Intelligence and Innovation Officer, Children's Health of Orange County.

Editor-in-chief, Intelligence Based Medicine Journal

Founder, AIMED, MI3, MI10

Dean, American Board of AI in Medicine

Leader, Orange County chapter of Society of Physician Entrepreneurs (SoPE) 

President, Medical Intelligence Society

"AI and Physician Entrepreneurship"

Panel Discussion

"Innovation and Impact: Role of the Physician Entrepreneur"

Featuring

dr-amandeep-hansra-1.jpg
Amandeep Hansra MD FRACGP FACHI ACCAM MPH&TM Global EMBA GAICD CHIA

Specialist General Practitioner. Clinical lead, Australian Digital Health Agency. Chief Medical Officer, Telstra Health. Founder, Creative Careers in Medicine. Digital Health consultant. 

Full bio here

PIYUSH MATHUR MD FCCM

Staff Anesthesiologist and Critical Care physician, Cleveland Clinic. Founder, BrainX and BrainX community. Cofounder, Medical Intelligence Society.

Full bio here

Mathur-400x530.jpg

PDT   16:50

CEST 01:50

AEST 09:50

NZST 11:50

Closing Remarks